Meta4, formed in Finland in 2001, is one of the most internationally successful string quartets. Meta4 studied at the European Chamber Music Academy (ECMA) under Hatto Beyerle and Johannes Meissl.

In 2004, Meta4 won the first prize in the International Shostakovich Quartet Competition in Moscow. In 2007, the Quartet won the first prize in the International Joseph Haydn Chamber Music Competition in Vienna. Later that year the Finnish Minister of Culture awarded Meta4 with the annual Finland Prize in recognition of an international breakthrough. They were selected as a BBC New Generation Artist for 2008‐2010 and will take part in the 20th anniversary celebration concert at Wigmore Hall, collaborating for the first time with Khatia Buniatishvili. Meta4’s debut was awarded with the esteemed Echo Klassik Award. Meta4 also served as Artistic Director of the Oulunsalo Music Festival between 2008 and 2011, and as quartet‐in-residence at the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival from 2008 to 2017.

Read more